Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Leyton and Wanstead on 8 June 2017

An election to the 57th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Leyton and Wanstead, held as part of the general election on 8 June 2017.

Labour hold by John Cryer with a majority of 22,607 - 49.0% - on a turnout of 70.9%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
CRYER, John Lab 32,234 69.8% 11.2%
FARRIS, Laura Con 9,627 20.8% -1.1%
SIMS, Ben LD 2,961 6.4% 0.8%
GUNSTOCK, Ashley Green 1,351 2.9% -4.4%

An electorate of 65,149, having a valid vote count of 46,173 and an invalid vote count of 139.

Result declared at 03:12 on 9 June 2017. Declarations times do not form part of election declarations and should be regarded as indicative rather than official.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.