Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Leyton and Wanstead on 7 May 2015

An election to the 56th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Leyton and Wanstead, held as part of the general election on 7 May 2015.

Labour hold by John Cryer with a majority of 14,917 - 36.6% - on a turnout of 63.0%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
CRYER, John Lab 23,856 58.6% 15.0%
SCOTT, Matthew Con 8,939 22.0% -0.3%
GUNSTOCK, Ashley Green 2,974 7.3% 5.9%
BEATTIE, Rosamund UKIP 2,341 5.8% 3.1%
QUILLIAM, Carl LD 2,304 5.7% -22.0%
AZIZ, Mahtab Ind 289 0.7% -

An electorate of 64,580, having a valid vote count of 40,703 and an invalid vote count of 171.

Result declared at 06:28 on 8 May 2015. Declaration times data is not official, as it not recorded on election declarations, so should be regarded as indicative.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.