Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Wansbeck on 7 May 2015

An election to the 56th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Wansbeck, held as part of the general election on 7 May 2015.

Labour hold by Ian Lavery with a majority of 10,881 - 28.2% - on a turnout of 63.5%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
LAVERY, Ian Lab 19,267 50.0% 4.2%
GALLEY, Chris Con 8,386 21.8% 4.2%
HURST, Melanie UKIP 7,014 18.2% 15.7%
HANCOCK, Tom LD 2,407 6.2% -21.2%
HEDLEY, Chris Green 1,454 3.8% 2.2%

An electorate of 60,705, having a valid vote count of 38,528 and an invalid vote count of 68.

Result declared at 13:02 on 8 May 2015. Declaration times data is not official, as it not recorded on election declarations, so should be regarded as indicative.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.