Election for the constituency of Wansbeck on 6 May 2010.

An election to the 55th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Wansbeck, held as part of the general election on 6 May 2010.

Labour hold by Ian Lavery with a majority of 7,031 - 18.4% - on a turnout of 61.9%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
LAVERY, Ian Lab 17,548 45.8% -9.3%
REED, Simon LD 10,517 27.5% 1.0%
STOREY, Campbell Con 6,714 17.5% 2.6%
FINLAY, Stephen BNP 1,418 3.7% -
STOKOE, Linda-Lee UKIP 974 2.5% -
BEST, Nic Green 601 1.6% -1.8%
REID, Malcolm Ind 359 0.9% -
FLYNN, Michael CHP 142 0.4% -

An electorate of 61,782, having a valid vote count of 38,273 and an invalid vote count of 61.

Result declared at 13:54 on 7 May 2010. Declarations times do not form part of election declarations and should be regarded as indicative rather than official.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.

This constituency of Wansbeck was established by the 2010-2024 boundary set for England. This election was the first held under that boundary set. Any holds, gains and vote change percentages as a result of this election are calculated from notional results.