Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Wansbeck on 8 June 2017

An election to the 57th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Wansbeck, held as part of the general election on 8 June 2017.

Labour hold by Ian Lavery with a majority of 10,435 - 24.6% - on a turnout of 68.3%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
LAVERY, Ian Lab 24,338 57.3% 7.3%
GALLEY, Chris Con 13,903 32.7% 11.0%
TEBBUTT, Joan LD 2,015 4.7% -1.5%
HURST, Melanie UKIP 1,483 3.5% -14.7%
LEYLAND, Steven Green 715 1.7% -2.1%

An electorate of 62,151, having a valid vote count of 42,454 and an invalid vote count of 57.

Result declared at 05:19 on 9 June 2017. Declaration times data is not official, as it not recorded on election declarations, so should be regarded as indicative.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.