Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of South Basildon and East Thurrock on 7 May 2015

An election to the 56th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of South Basildon and East Thurrock, held as part of the general election on 7 May 2015.

Conservative hold by Stephen Metcalfe with a majority of 7,691 - 16.9% - on a turnout of 64.1%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
METCALFE, Stephen Con 19,788 43.4% -0.5%
LUDER, Ian UKIP 12,097 26.5% 20.6%
LE-SURF, Mike Lab 11,493 25.2% -5.8%
WILLIAMS, Geoff LD 1,356 3.0% -10.4%
SMITH, Kerry Ind 401 0.9% -
X, None Of The Above Ind 253 0.6% -
HOOPER, Stuart Ind 205 0.4% -

An electorate of 71,155, having a valid vote count of 45,593 and an invalid vote count of 106.

Result declared at 04:06 on 8 May 2015. Declaration times data is not official, as it not recorded on election declarations, so should be regarded as indicative.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.