Election for the constituency of South Basildon and East Thurrock on 6 May 2010.

An election to the 55th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of South Basildon and East Thurrock, held as part of the general election on 6 May 2010.

Conservative gain from Labour by Stephen Metcalfe with a majority of 5,772 - 12.9% - on a turnout of 62.2%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
METCALFE, Stephen Con 19,624 43.9% 5.3%
SMITH, Angela Lab / Co-op 13,852 31.0% -9.7%
WILLIAMS, Geoff LD 5,977 13.4% 2.8%
SMITH, Kerry UKIP 2,639 5.9% 3.3%
ROBERTS, Christopher BNP 2,518 5.6% 0.8%
X, N. Ind 125 0.3% -

An electorate of 71,874, having a valid vote count of 44,735 and an invalid vote count of 100.

Result declared at 02:27 on 7 May 2010. Declarations times do not form part of election declarations and should be regarded as indicative rather than official.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.

This constituency of South Basildon and East Thurrock was established by the 2010-2024 boundary set for England. This election was the first held under that boundary set. Any holds, gains and vote change percentages as a result of this election are calculated from notional results.