Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of South Basildon and East Thurrock on 8 June 2017

An election to the 57th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of South Basildon and East Thurrock, held as part of the general election on 8 June 2017.

Conservative hold by Stephen Metcalfe with a majority of 11,490 - 24.4% - on a turnout of 64.1%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
METCALFE, Stephen Con 26,811 56.9% 13.5%
TAYLOR, Byron Lab 15,321 32.5% 7.3%
WHITTLE, Peter UKIP 3,193 6.8% -19.8%
BANERJI, Reetendra LD 732 1.6% -1.4%
HARMAN, Sim Green 680 1.4% -
BORG, Paul BNP 383 0.8% -

An electorate of 73,537, having a valid vote count of 47,120 and an invalid vote count of 75.

Result declared at 01:14 on 9 June 2017. Declaration times data is not official, as it not recorded on election declarations, so should be regarded as indicative.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.