Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of South Basildon and East Thurrock on 12 December 2019

An election to the 58th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of South Basildon and East Thurrock, held as part of the general election on 12 December 2019.

Conservative hold by Stephen Metcalfe with a majority of 19,922 - 44.0% - on a turnout of 60.8%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
METCALFE, Stephen Con 29,973 66.2% 9.3%
FERGUSON, Jack Lab 10,051 22.2% -10.3%
SMITH, Kerry Ind 3,316 7.3% -
BUKOLA, Michael LD 1,957 4.3% 2.8%

An electorate of 74,441, having a valid vote count of 45,297 and an invalid vote count of 198.

Result declared at 01:44 on 13 December 2019. Declaration times data is not official, as it not recorded on election declarations, so should be regarded as indicative.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.