Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Leicester South on 8 June 2017

An election to the 57th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Leicester South, held as part of the general election on 8 June 2017.

Labour hold by Jonathan Ashworth with a majority of 26,261 - 52.0% - on a turnout of 66.9%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
ASHWORTH, Jonathan Lab / Co-op 37,157 73.6% 13.8%
SONECHA, Meera Con 10,896 21.6% 0.6%
BISNAUTHSING, Harrish LD 1,287 2.5% -2.1%
LEWIS, Mags Green 1,177 2.3% -3.2%

An electorate of 75,534, having a valid vote count of 50,517 and an invalid vote count of 182.

Result declared at 03:00 on 9 June 2017. Declarations times do not form part of election declarations and should be regarded as indicative rather than official.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.