Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Leicester South on 12 December 2019

An election to the 58th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Leicester South, held as part of the general election on 12 December 2019.

Labour hold by Jonathan Ashworth with a majority of 22,675 - 45.2% - on a turnout of 64.5%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
ASHWORTH, Jonathan Lab / Co-op 33,606 67.0% -6.5%
NEALE, Natalie Con 10,931 21.8% 0.2%
COGHLAN, Chris LD 2,754 5.5% 2.9%
LEWIS, Mags Green 1,669 3.3% 1.0%
POTTER, James BRX 1,187 2.4% -

An electorate of 77,708, having a valid vote count of 50,147 and an invalid vote count of 192.

Result declared at 01:47 on 13 December 2019. Declarations times do not form part of election declarations and should be regarded as indicative rather than official.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.