Election for the constituency of Jarrow on 8 June 2017.

An election to the 57th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Jarrow, held as part of the general election on 8 June 2017.

Labour hold by Stephen Hepburn with a majority of 17,263 - 40.1% - on a turnout of 66.4%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
HEPBURN, Stephen Lab 28,020 65.1% 9.5%
GWYNN, Robin Con 10,757 25.0% 7.9%
ASKWITH, James UKIP 2,338 5.4% -14.2%
MAUGHAN, Peter LD 1,163 2.7% -0.5%
HERBERT, David Green 745 1.7% -1.7%

An electorate of 64,778, having a valid vote count of 43,023 and an invalid vote count of 77.

Result declared at 01:08 on 9 June 2017. Declarations times do not form part of election declarations and should be regarded as indicative rather than official.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.