Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Argyll and Bute on 8 June 2017

An election to the 57th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Argyll and Bute, held as part of the general election on 8 June 2017.

SNP hold by Brendan O'Hara with a majority of 1,328 - 2.8% - on a turnout of 71.5%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
O'HARA, Brendan SNP 17,304 36.0% -8.3%
MULVANEY, Gary Con 15,976 33.2% 18.3%
REID, Alan LD 8,745 18.2% -9.7%
KELLY, Michael Lab 6,044 12.6% 2.2%

An electorate of 67,230, having a valid vote count of 48,069 and an invalid vote count of 69.

Result declared at 04:56 on 9 June 2017. Declaration times data is not official, as it not recorded on election declarations, so should be regarded as indicative.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.