Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Argyll and Bute on 12 December 2019

An election to the 58th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Argyll and Bute, held as part of the general election on 12 December 2019.

SNP hold by Brendan O'Hara with a majority of 4,110 - 8.6% - on a turnout of 72.2%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
O'HARA, Brendan SNP 21,040 43.8% 7.8%
MULVANEY, Gary Con 16,930 35.2% 2.0%
REID, Alan LD 6,832 14.2% -4.0%
BARNES, Rhea Lab 3,248 6.8% -5.8%

An electorate of 66,525, having a valid vote count of 48,050 and an invalid vote count of 142.

Result declared at 05:43 on 13 December 2019. Declaration times data is not official, as it not recorded on election declarations, so should be regarded as indicative.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.