Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Southampton, Test on 6 May 2010

An election to the 55th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Southampton, Test, held as part of the general election on 6 May 2010.

Labour hold by Alan Whitehead with a majority of 2,413 - 5.5% - on a turnout of 61.4%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
WHITEHEAD, Alan Lab 17,001 38.5% -5.7%
MOULTON, Jeremy Con 14,588 33.0% 8.0%
CALLAGHAN, David LD 9,865 22.3% -1.8%
HINGSTON, Pearline UKIP 1,726 3.9% 0.9%
BLUEMEL, Chris Green 881 2.0% -1.6%
SANDERSON, Charles Ind 126 0.3% -

An electorate of 71,931, having a valid vote count of 44,187 and an invalid vote count of 114.

Result declared at 05:13 on 7 May 2010. Declaration times data is not official, as it not recorded on election declarations, so should be regarded as indicative.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.

This constituency of Southampton, Test was established by the 2010-2024 boundary set for England. This election was the first held under that boundary set. Any holds, gains and vote change percentages as a result of this election are calculated from notional results.