Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Eastleigh on 6 May 2010

An election to the 55th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Eastleigh, held as part of the general election on 6 May 2010.

Liberal Democrats hold by Chris Huhne with a majority of 3,864 - 7.2% - on a turnout of 69.3%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
HUHNE, Chris LD 24,966 46.5% 8.2%
HUTCHINGS, Maria Con 21,102 39.3% 2.1%
BARRACLOUGH, Leo Lab 5,153 9.6% -11.5%
FINCH, Ray UKIP 1,933 3.6% 0.2%
PEWSEY, Tony ED 249 0.5% -
STONE, Dave Ind 154 0.3% -
LOW, Keith NLP 93 0.2% -

An electorate of 77,436, having a valid vote count of 53,650 and an invalid vote count of 75.

Result declared at 02:43 on 7 May 2010. Declarations times do not form part of election declarations and should be regarded as indicative rather than official.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.

This constituency of Eastleigh was established by the 2010-2024 boundary set for England. This election was the first held under that boundary set. Any holds, gains and vote change percentages as a result of this election are calculated from notional results.