Election for the constituency of East Renfrewshire on 6 May 2010.

An election to the 55th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of East Renfrewshire, held as part of the general election on 6 May 2010.

Labour hold by Jim Murphy with a majority of 10,420 - 20.4% - on a turnout of 77.3%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
MURPHY, Jim Lab 25,987 50.8% 6.9%
COOK, Richard Con 15,567 30.4% 0.5%
MACDONALD, Gordon LD 4,720 9.2% -9.0%
ARCHER, Gordon SNP 4,535 8.9% 2.0%
MACKAY, Donald UKIP 372 0.7% -

An electorate of 66,249, having a valid vote count of 51,181 and an invalid vote count of 77.

Result declared at 02:39 on 7 May 2010. Declarations times do not form part of election declarations and should be regarded as indicative rather than official.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.