Election for the constituency of Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire on 6 May 2010.

An election to the 55th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire, held as part of the general election on 6 May 2010.

Conservative gain from Labour by Simon Hart with a majority of 3,423 - 8.5% - on a turnout of 69.7%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
HART, Simon Con 16,649 41.1% 9.8%
AINGER, Nick Lab 13,226 32.7% -4.0%
GOSSAGE, John LD 4,890 12.1% -2.1%
DIXON, John PC 4,232 10.4% -5.1%
CLARKE, Ray UKIP 1,146 2.8% 1.4%
LANGEN, Henry Ind 364 0.9% -

An electorate of 58,108, having a valid vote count of 40,507 and an invalid vote count of 67.

Result declared at 03:53 on 7 May 2010. Declarations times do not form part of election declarations and should be regarded as indicative rather than official.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.

This constituency of Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire was established by the 2010-2024 boundary set for Wales. This election was the first held under that boundary set. Any holds, gains and vote change percentages as a result of this election are calculated from notional results.