Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Meriden on 12 December 2019

An election to the 58th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Meriden, held as part of the general election on 12 December 2019.

Conservative hold by Saqib Bhatti with a majority of 22,836 - 42.2% - on a turnout of 63.4%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
BHATTI, Saqib Con 34,358 63.4% 1.4%
BEDDIS, Teresa Lab 11,522 21.3% -5.6%
MCCARTHY, Laura LD 5,614 10.4% 5.5%
CAUDWELL, Steve Green 2,667 4.9% 2.3%

An electorate of 85,368, having a valid vote count of 54,161 and an invalid vote count of 236.

Result declared at 01:59 on 13 December 2019. Declarations times do not form part of election declarations and should be regarded as indicative rather than official.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.