Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Wirral South on 8 June 2017

An election to the 57th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Wirral South, held as part of the general election on 8 June 2017.

Labour hold by Alison McGovern with a majority of 8,323 - 18.4% - on a turnout of 78.4%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
MCGOVERN, Alison Lab 25,871 57.2% 9.0%
SYKES, Adam Con 17,548 38.8% 1.6%
CARUBIA, Chris LD 1,322 2.9% -0.6%
ROBERTS, Mandi Green 454 1.0% -1.1%

An electorate of 57,670, having a valid vote count of 45,195 and an invalid vote count of 84.

Result declared at 02:23 on 9 June 2017. Declaration times data is not official, as it not recorded on election declarations, so should be regarded as indicative.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.