Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Central Ayrshire on 7 May 2015

An election to the 56th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Central Ayrshire, held as part of the general election on 7 May 2015.

SNP gain from Labour by Philippa Whitford with a majority of 13,589 - 26.8% - on a turnout of 72.5%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
WHITFORD, Philippa SNP 26,999 53.2% 34.1%
DONOHOE, Brian Lab 13,410 26.4% -21.3%
HOPE, Marc Con 8,803 17.3% -3.0%
BAIN, Gordon LD 917 1.8% -10.1%
TUDHOPE, Veronika Green 645 1.3% -

An electorate of 70,021, having a valid vote count of 50,774 and an invalid vote count of 68.

Result declared at 03:52 on 8 May 2015. Declaration times data is not official, as it not recorded on election declarations, so should be regarded as indicative.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.