Election for the constituency of Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney on 8 June 2017.

An election to the 57th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney, held as part of the general election on 8 June 2017.

Labour hold by Gerald Jones with a majority of 16,334 - 48.7% - on a turnout of 60.5%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
JONES, Gerald Lab 22,407 66.8% 12.9%
JORGENSEN, Pauline Con 6,073 18.1% 8.0%
KITCHER, Amy PC 2,740 8.2% -1.3%
ROWLANDS, David UKIP 1,484 4.4% -14.2%
GRIFFIN, Bob LD 841 2.5% -1.6%

An electorate of 55,463, having a valid vote count of 33,545 and an invalid vote count of 71.

Result declared at 03:17 on 9 June 2017. Declarations times do not form part of election declarations and should be regarded as indicative rather than official.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.