Election for the constituency of Newcastle Upon Tyne East on 6 May 2010.

An election to the 55th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Newcastle Upon Tyne East, held as part of the general election on 6 May 2010.

Labour hold by Nicholas Brown with a majority of 4,453 - 11.8% - on a turnout of 58.7%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
BROWN, Nicholas Lab 17,043 45.0% -7.7%
TAYLOR, Wendy LD 12,590 33.3% 1.5%
LLEWELLYN, Dominic Con 6,068 16.0% 3.0%
SPENCE, Alan BNP 1,342 3.5% -
GRAY, Andrew Green 620 1.6% -
LEVY, Martin Comm 177 0.5% -

An electorate of 64,487, having a valid vote count of 37,840 and an invalid vote count of 74.

Result declared at 03:43 on 7 May 2010. Declarations times do not form part of election declarations and should be regarded as indicative rather than official.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.

This constituency of Newcastle Upon Tyne East was established by the 2010-2024 boundary set for England. This election was the first held under that boundary set. Any holds, gains and vote change percentages as a result of this election are calculated from notional results.