Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Elmet and Rothwell on 12 December 2019

An election to the 58th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Elmet and Rothwell, held as part of the general election on 12 December 2019.

Conservative hold by Alec Shelbrooke with a majority of 17,353 - 29.8% - on a turnout of 71.9%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
SHELBROOKE, Alec Con 33,726 57.9% 3.6%
NAGLE, David Lab 16,373 28.1% -9.7%
GOLTON, Stewart LD 5,155 8.9% 4.5%
STABLES, Penny Green 1,775 3.0% 1.4%
CLOVER, Matthew Yrks 1,196 2.1% 0.3%

An electorate of 80,957, having a valid vote count of 58,225 and an invalid vote count of 187.

Result declared at 04:15 on 13 December 2019. Declarations times do not form part of election declarations and should be regarded as indicative rather than official.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.