Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Birmingham, Edgbaston on 12 December 2019

An election to the 58th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Birmingham, Edgbaston, held as part of the general election on 12 December 2019.

Labour hold by Preet Kaur Gill with a majority of 5,614 - 13.3% - on a turnout of 61.5%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
GILL, Preet Kaur Lab / Co-op 21,217 50.1% -5.2%
YIP, Alex Con 15,603 36.9% -2.6%
GREEN, Colin LD 3,349 7.9% 4.3%
SIMPSON, Phil Green 1,112 2.6% 1.3%
WILKS, David BRX 1,047 2.5% -

An electorate of 68,828, having a valid vote count of 42,328 and an invalid vote count of 149.

Result declared at 03:47 on 13 December 2019. Declaration times data is not official, as it not recorded on election declarations, so should be regarded as indicative.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.