Skip to main content

Election for the constituency of Wells on 8 June 2017

An election to the 57th Parliament of the United Kingdom for the constituency area of Wells, held as part of the general election on 8 June 2017.

Conservative hold by James Heappey with a majority of 7,582 - 12.5% - on a turnout of 73.8%.


Name Party Vote Vote share Vote change
HEAPPEY, James Con 30,488 50.1% 4.0%
MUNT, Tessa LD 22,906 37.6% 4.9%
MERRYFIELD, Andy Lab 7,129 11.7% 5.1%
CORKE, Lorna CPA 320 0.5% -

An electorate of 82,451, having a valid vote count of 60,843 and an invalid vote count of 131.

Result declared at 04:35 on 9 June 2017. Declaration times data is not official, as it not recorded on election declarations, so should be regarded as indicative.

Under section 13(b) of the Representation of the People Act 1985, a candidate gaining 5% or less of the vote share will forfeit their deposit.